Film Festival

Sean Cunningham to receive “Lifetime Achievement” award during NYC Horror Film Festival


As one legendary director passes away another receives high praise. Sean S. Cunningham the creator of FRIDAY THE 13TH will receive a “Lifetime Achievement award at the upcoming NYC Horror Film Festival in November. Cunningham’s claim on the horror industry is iconic and still being felt today. He is still working on projects surrounding his original masterpiece and in true form will receive his award on Friday the 13th of November. This will be a great night for horror fans near and far and hopefully we will hear some kind words on the passing of his friend Wes Craven.

The 14th edition of the New York City Horror Film Festival celebrates the career of FRIDAY THE 13TH progenitor Sean S. Cunningham this November with the festival’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Responsible for one of the major characters of slasher cinema in the form of Jason Voorhees, Cunningham also joined with the late Wes Craven in their dark underground classic THE LAST HOUSE ON THE LEFT.  And of course Mr. Cunningham receives his prize on Friday Nov. 13!

Also producing other installments in the FRIDAY THE 13TH series including JASON GOES TO HELL: THE FINAL FRIDAY, JASON X, and FREDDY VS. JASON, Cunningham is also responsible for the HOUSE series, producing the original feature, its sequel HOUSE II: THE SECOND STORY, and HOUSE IV. Cunningham is now in production on FRIDAY THE 13TH: CRYSTAL LAKE CHRONICLES in the role of executive producer, slated for a 2016 debut.

The festival runs Nov. 12–15, 2015, at Times Scare, 669 8th Avenue., right on Times Square’s famed 42nd Street, aka “The Deuce.” Times Scare is enhanced with custom-built designs and elegant macabre décor including a state-of-the-art haunted house and skeletal bar. The venue’s history traces back to the crematorium that operated there in the roaring ’20s and the dark echoes of old Times Square’s bawdy past. The festival selection committee is currently reviewing this year’s submissions and will announce in October, along with the Opening Night film and the second award recipient. The schedule and ticket link go live in October at

The NYC Horror Film Festival was born in 2002 by filmmaker Michael J. Hein as a venue for newer independent horror filmmaking. After Michael’s passing in 2011, the festival created the Michael J. Hein Achievement Award to celebrate the hard work and perseverance of creators in the field. George Romero was the first recipient of the festival’s Lifetime Achievement Award, followed by other classic scaremeisters including Rob Zombie, Tobe Hooper, Roger Corman, Herschell Gordon Lewis, Frank Henenlotter, Robert Englund, Angus Scrimm, Stuart Gordon, and the beloved late Wes Craven.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.